3 San Diego schools receive Dept. of Education honor - CBS News 8 - San Diego, CA News Station - KFMB Channel 8

3 San Diego schools receive Dept. of Education honor

Posted: Updated:

SAN DIEGO (CNS) - Three schools in San Diego County were Thursday named National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education.

The Kearny School of Digital Media and Design in San Diego, Otay Elementary School in Chula Vista and The Preuss School at UC San Diego are among 254 public and 50 private schools nationwide to receive the designation.

The DOE honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at very high levels, or that have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

"Our nation has a responsibility to help all children realize their full potential," said U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

"Schools honored with the Blue Ribbon Schools award are committed to achievement and to ensuring that students learn and succeed," Duncan said. "Their work reflects the conviction that every child has promise and must receive a quality education."

An awards ceremony is planned for Nov. 15-16 in Washington, D.C.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Midwest Television, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.