Five East County sanitation districts to be combined - CBS News 8 - San Diego, CA News Station - KFMB Channel 8

Five East County sanitation districts to be combined

Posted: Updated:

SAN DIEGO (CNS) - Five sanitation districts in the East County will be consolidated, it was announced Tuesday.

Sanitation districts in the unincorporated communities of Spring Valley, Lakeside, Pine Valley, Julian and Alpine will be combined into one entity, called the San Diego County Sanitation District, according to the San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission, the group charged with local jurisdictional changes.

The district will serve about 120,000 people, according to LAFCO.

"LAFCO and the county have taken a monumental step to peel away layers and layers of government to make service provision simpler, more transparent, and cost-effective," said Bud Pocklington, LAFCO's chairman. "Consolidation will equalize and lower sewer rates for county residents."

Once the consolidation takes effect on July 1, residential sewer rates in the new district will be $336 annually, according to LAFCO.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KFMB-TV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.