Fans to vote for next Chargers Hall of Fame inductee - CBS News 8 - San Diego, CA News Station - KFMB Channel 8

Fans to vote for next Chargers Hall of Fame inductee

Posted: Updated:

SAN DIEGO (CNS) - The Chargers announced Monday that fans will be able to vote for the next inductee into the team's Hall of Fame for the first time.

Online voting began Monday and will continue to Sept. 17, when the results will be announced.

Finalists include punter Darren Bennett, running back Natrone Means, and wide receiver Anthony Miller.

"This is the highest honor that the team can bestow on one of our players and we think all three players -- Darren, Natrone and Anthony -- are deserving of this recognition," said Chargers CEO A.G. Spanos.

"Our fans are just as knowledgeable as they are passionate," he said. "We're really looking forward to their involvement in the process."

Bennett was annually among the NFL's leading punters while with the Chargers from 1995-2003, and went to two Pro Bowls.

Means ran for 1,350 yards and a dozen touchdowns in the Bolts' Super Bowl season of 1994. He played in San Diego for five seasons.

Miller caught 374 passes for San Diego between 1988 and 1993. He had 72 and 84 receptions in his last two seasons as a Charger.

"It was a great privilege to play for the San Diego Chargers and I appreciate everything the organization has done for me," Miller said. "It was definitely an honor to represent the Chargers in four Pro Bowls and I still remember seeing my number (83) on a fan-made banner at every home game."

The Chargers Hall of Fame has 35 members that were chosen by a selection committee. The most recent inductee was now-deceased linebacker Junior Seau.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KFMB-TV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.