Chargers to celebrate 1963 AFL championship team - CBS News 8 - San Diego, CA News Station - KFMB Channel 8

Chargers to celebrate 1963 AFL championship team

Posted: Updated:

SAN DIEGO (CNS) - The Chargers' 1963 American Football League championship team will be inducted into the franchise's Ring of Honor, it was announced Monday.

The Chargers, who defeated the then-Boston Patriots 51-10 for the league title at Balboa Stadium, included numerous players already in the team's version of a Hall of Fame. The list includes receiver Lance Alworth, offensive lineman Ron Mix, running backs Keith Lincoln and Paul Lowe and defensive linemen Earl Faison and Ernie Ladd.

Alworth said he and his teammates believed they could beat the NFL champion Chicago Bears that year. The Super Bowl, matching the league champions, hadn't started by 1963.

"I played on a championship team with Dallas, and won the Super Bowl," Alworth said. "The '63 team I played on with the Chargers was the best football team I ever played on."

He said they "could do everything." They played together, the defense was "fabulous," the running game was "unbelievable" and -- poking fun at himself -- the receiving was "average," he said.

The 1963 Chargers won San Diego's only major professional sports championship. The Bolts lost a Super Bowl in 1995 and the Padres came up short in the World Series in 1984 and 1998.

The induction will be at halftime of the Dec. 1 game against the Cincinnati Bengals, Chargers CEO A.G. Smith said.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KFMB-TV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.