World's top women surfers in San Diego to compete - CBS News 8 - San Diego, CA News Station - KFMB Channel 8

World's top women surfers in San Diego to compete

Posted: Updated:

SAN DIEGO (CBS 8) - For the last nine years, the Supergirl Pro Competition has exemplified female empowerment in the world of professional action sports.

Showing off supreme surf skills, the Supergirl Pro Competition pulled out all the stops.

"I've been excited, it's beautiful there are good waves so it's fun," said Supergirl Pro surfer Freya Prumm.

Surfing for 16 years, 24 year old Australian Freya Prumm came in second place in her heat - moving on to the next round.

"Really will try to be on the best waves with open face allow for the maneuvers that I know I can't perform. Dealing with the ocean it's so unpredictable. You can't have a super solid game plan," she said.

The big waves brought out even bigger names for the largest female surf competition.

“All the top surfers on the planet: you've got Carissa Morris as the defending world champion, Courtney Konline Who is ranked number one,” said event director, Rick Bratman.

Beyond the beach, there's something fun for everyone.

"There's art. There is yoga. There is dance. There is fitness. There are the DJ’s in the skateboarding and the live concerts. It's all free and there's a beer garden. There's great food," said Bratman.

The contest has grown dramatically over the last nine years to 140 surfers with tens of thousands of fans watching at the Oceanside Pier.

"Supergirl brand stands for female strength independence and empowerment," said Bratman.

In a male dominated action sports world, these surfers strut their girlpower. The winner will get a Supergirl pink cape.

"A lot of the contests are about the boys and this one is about the girls, which is super inspiring I think for all the other little girls on the beach," said Supergirl Pro surfer.

Friday was only day one. The pro surf competition continues Saturday from 8 p.m., to 5 p.m., and concludes with finals on Sunday at 3:15 p.m., to crown this year's Supergirl champion.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KFMB-TV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.