Snow Day: Three county school districts announce closures for Th - CBS News 8 - San Diego, CA News Station - KFMB Channel 8

Snow Day: Three county school districts announce closures for Thursday

Posted: Updated:

JULIAN (NEWS 8/CNS) - Several school districts in the East County mountains canceled classes or pushed back start times Thursday due to inclement weather.

Classes were canceled at all campuses in the Julian Union School District, Julian Union High School District and Warner Unified School District, according to the San Diego County Office of Education.

Schools in the Spencer Valley School District were set to start late, with school opening at 9 a.m.

"The safety and security of students, faculty and staff is of the utmost importance to schools across the county," SDCOE spokeswoman Music Watson said.

Temperatures were expected to be in the low 40s in the mountains, with snow falling in some locations at elevations above 3,500 feet. More precipitation was expected later in the day.

A wind advisory was also set to go into effect at 10 a.m. Thursday, with sustained winds of 30 to 40 mph and gusts up to 50 mph possible. The National Weather Service urged drivers to use caution, especially those in high-profile vehicles.

The Warner Unified School District includes the following schools:

Warner Elementary

Warner Middle School

Warner High School

San Jose Continuation School

All Tribes Charter School

California Pacific Charter School

Also closed on Thursday will be: Julian Union School District and Julian Union High School District and Spencer Valley School District.

Get the latest News 8 Weather updates >>

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2019 KFMB-TV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.